Finals are coming. It's no longer sorta far off but rather rushing up at a disturbingly fast past. We're talking T-19 days for biochemistry. Histology is following close on the heels of biochem with anatomy coming in a few days later for the killing blow. @.@
Here's what I've noticed about my relative cramming requirements time wise:
Junior High: cram for a test before the bell rang
High School: cram for a test the morning of
College: cram for a test the night before
Medical School: cram for a test
a freaking month before and
still be scrambling last second
>.>' And this is for term one. I get the feeling that it's going to turn into 'cram from day 1 and desperately hope you make it' for the next terms.
Ugh. I guess I'm feeling a little overwhelmed at the moment since I just sat through two hours of pharynx and larynx. Oh man, can we say material dump? Our dear Dr.Burns lived up to his name and burned through thirty six pages of handouts and covered embryological development, anatomy, innervation, blood supply and a few diseases and how to give someone an emergency trach in two hours. @.@ Now it's probably going to take me another four to work through it all and make notecards and attempt memorization. And I still need to go back and memorize purine metabolism and eicosanoids and
start studying histology... gyahhh!!!
And they gave out another massive packet for the next set of biochemistry lectures. >.>' Where anatomy and histology are kind of petering out when it comes to number of lectures biochemistry is plowing right on through. I think we have another fourteen or so before they finally stop. It's not hard. It's just allot! <-this sums up medical school so far
Yes, I'm complaining pointlessly and eating up valuable study time. But it was this or stare forlornly at the beach for the next hour feeling sorry for myself. The only downside to living in paradise is that I can't really enjoy it! I don't think I've been to the beach since my second week here.
Ok, interesting side note. The Summit of the Americas was from the 17-19th of this month in Trinidad and Tobago (very close to Grenada) so we've been treated to the really awesome site of military jets taking off from the airport (they've been using it as a kind of layover spot). Very cool. Almost like an airshow. ^_^ It was kind of amusing though to have lecture interrupted momentarily while we all listened to the unmistakable roar of a fighter jet roar by. The airport is extremely close to campus so we get a nice view. I attempted to take a picture but you can really only see a spec. The jet was essentially gone in the five seconds it took me to pull out my camera. Still, the picture is neat. If you squint you can see the plane right above the building.

Here's a blown up version of the spec that is the fighter jet: LOL Just in case you didn't believe me.

Here are a few more pictures from my walk in the mornings to the shuttle stop (because I just keep taking them).


I also saw this really nice hummingbird (didn't get my camera out in time though) the other day. I looked it up and it's apparently called a Crested Antillean Hummingbird. Here is a picture I found someone posted on flickr of one. Gorgeous yes?
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bobhall106/2197329675My new goal is to take a picture of one of these birds that is as wonderful as that one. I have two years. Hopefully that'll be enough time!
Here's a picture of the port on a cloudy day:
Listening to: 鉄腕バーディー DECODE / 西洋 骨董 洋菓子店