Friday, April 5, 2013

Project : Blue Seas

Project Name: Blue Seas
Mission Status: Success
Outcome: Matched at first choice, high tiered academic program



What can I say? I essentially did not have time to type in this blog during third and fourth year but I feel compelled to write at least some type of wrap up post. And I'm considering a series of posts on the various hospitals I've rotated in before I completely relegate them to memory. It's been an insane four years (give or take a couple of months). How to sum it up? The simplest way is as I've said above. I made it. I matched at my top choice. I matched exactly where I wanted to. The place I'd have wanted to go even if I'd made it into an American med school. My dream residency as a friend of mine put it. My massive detour to the Caribbean and then to the wilds of NYC actually managed to lead me back to EXACTLY where I wanted to be. It's pretty amazing really. It's been three weeks to the day and it's STILL sinking in. I think it'll keep 'sinking in' all the way until July 1st. In the beginning I could hardly believe it. I kept expected to wake up and still be in survival mode. Just trying to get through the latest obstacle or flaming hoop.


So, SGU. I watched the great cogs of your machine destroy so many people. But I was NOT ONE OF THEM! I made it! I have mixed feelings towards the school. I am eternally grateful for what they've given me (my MD) but also horrified at so many of their policies and lies along the way (all the clinical rotations are equal in quality - NOT TRUE. THIS IS A HUGE FILTHY LIE). Also I am in more debt than should be legal right now. But would I do it again? So many people have asked me that question over the years and I've always responded the same way : "I can't say". Now, I can say. Yes, yes I would do it again. Because I attained my ultimate goal. I think that even if I had matched at my second choice (another amazing university program) I would have had regret for going to SGU. But I am just so damned HAPPY right now about matching at my top choice that all the indignities and the suffering along the way suddenly seem an acceptable price. It all seems WORTH it now. The uncertainty along the way was, without a doubt, rough. I wish I could just send back a picture of my match results to myself so I'd know that it was all going to work out in the end.
Would I recommend this route to everyone? No. Resoundingly, NO. In addition to the simple statistical facts of US med schools increasing their class sizes, more DO and MD schools opening in the US whose students will be in the residency applicant pools in the very near future the Caribbean route is an extremely tough one. Many, many people are destroyed by it. Or end up in subpar residencies. Or end up not matched. I know a few very nice, intelligent people who did not match. Had they been US grads with the same stats they would have easily matched. It's unfair but it's a fact. As an IMG you are at a distinct disadvantage simply being who you are. I read a forum post recently describing IMG's as a pile of rotting fruit that PD's sift through to select the best from if they have to. It was an insulting and depressing analogy. But accurate. There is a HUGE stigma against us that you have to fight through. And unlike the stigma against DO's ours will not fade. In fact, the statistics of the matter is that it's getting more and more difficult as an IMG to match into a US residency. The AMA is actively attempting to filter IMG's out as much as possible. The all in/all out policy instituted this past match is only the beginning. So if you have even the smallest chance of getting into a US school if you try again, or retake the MCAT or whatever you should do that. SGU should be an absolute last resort and only if you are ridiculously determined and have no other options. Because, let me tell you, as hard as you think medical school will be it'll be more difficult and trying than you ever imagined. You have to be 110% going in just to make it to the end. Do not get me wrong, it's an incredibly rewarding experience. You will change as a person significantly. You'll gain confidence in spades along with knowledge (if you're doing it right). But you will pay for it in 3am alarms, hours of studying, being pimped on rounds again and again. And oh, the public humiliation, can't forget that. You work and you work and you work and you work. And you change as a person without even realizing it. But in the end it is worth it. These are simple words to describe the indescribable experience that medical school is.

On to the the next voyage!

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Match is Tomorrow

Match is Tomorrow. See above. One can only be so full of hopes, dreams, fears and such a ridiculous amount of anticipation for so long before the anticipation receptors start to fatigue and you catch yourself staring blankly out of a train window. Monday we found out if we matched (I DID!!!! WONDERFUL MOMENT OF PURE UNADULTERATED RELIEF). And this friday. Tomorrow. We find out WHERE. The all important question. The information is still nestled safely in whatever server the NRMP hides our futures in. I am counting minutes here people. Minutes!

Saturday, September 24, 2011

Thursday, September 1, 2011

3rd Year abandon?

Well. I am into my third rotation and have yet to type a single entry. So lest anyone think I bombed the step and fled the country to escape my creditors I thought I'd type a short 'I'm alive!!'. Also, I am adding a twitter account to the page. I swore I'd never use twitter but there was also a time I swore I'd never blog...and we all saw how well that went. ^_^'

https://twitter.com/#!/projectblueseas

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

blee bloo blah

O.o In 14 hours I'll be starting my test! Me brain sounds something like this:

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Reminder

I just received a 'reminder' e-mail from pometric. Whew. For a minute there I almost forgot that I was taking the step on thursday! It just, like, totally slipped my mind. Without that e-mail I'd have just gone on happily with my life being all, you know, happy and oblivious. I've not even been _thinking_ about my test. Psh, step 1? What's that? Just a little road bump. *rolls eyes* Instead of "Reminder! - Your Computer-based test" the subject line should have read "Reminder! - Your DAY OF JUDGEMENT IS AT HAND" followed by insane maniacal laughter.

What? You want a residency? You think you've studied enough? You think you have what it TAKES? HAH!

This is now how I imagine the creators of the USMLE.

And on a different note. I have a rhetorical question for all the people who lecture and/or create review courses. Why do they ALL claim, usually with much conviction, in one form or another that the oh-so-wonderful knowledge they are imparting to you is totally unique to THEIR super special review program and go on about how OTHER poor saps who were stupid enough not to purchase/take their review program won't have this valuable knowledge that is theirs alone to impart...

Um. Guys? I hate to break this to you but, er, these things you're imparting? Not secrets. They are in every review book and question bank and review course. Also, we're not stupid. We know you are just trying to reassure us we made the right choice by giving YOU money instead of some other hackneyed review program. I'm not going to be foolishly comforted if you tell me that 'all the other people' who didn't take your review course have NO CLUE what will be on the test. Right. That's why the average on the step is 222. Because of the lack of aforementioned clue.

Yeah. Not buying it.

My advice? Well, I'll write an actual entry on that post-test/score but for now pick up Robbins. All the 'secrets' are within.

-52 hours away from my test.

Listening too: varying youtube clips of maniacal laughter (surprisingly therapeutic!)

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Learning new things!

UWorld and medical school in general is teaching me to be racist AND sexist at the same time*!!! (*seriously, before anyone freaks out I am _kidding_. I would like to think that I am neither racist or sexist. )

Young african american female with bilateral lymph..
SARCOIDOSIS!

Young 25 yr old male with spots on...
HIV!

A 45 yr old black...
HYPERTENSION!

Immigrant from...
EVERYTHING BAD!

*shaking head* It's actually pretty helpful to help narrow down diagnoses but you have to be careful not to fall into sterotypes too much. I mean, I had a sarcoidosis vignette on Uworld and spent an extra five minutes scrutinizing it _just_ because the patient was male - even though it was clear case of above mentioned sarcoidosis. Women can have hemophilia too people!!

Anyways. I am seriously burned around my crispy study cookie edges (it's a polypeptide cookie...with mint frosting ;) ). I'm nine days away from The Day and am simultaneously trying not to panic, motivate myself to continue studying, convince myself that I do in fact know something even thought I feel like I know nothing, and again with the resisting of the panicking when I realize that I can't remember if labetalol is a nonspecific beta blocker or not (it is btw).

But all that aside I am , overall, in between the spots of pseudo-mental disassociation, feeling what I'd describe as 'cautiously optimistic'. I'm planning on taking a final NBME a few days before the exam just to ensure that I'm happy with where I am. For my already somewhat questionable sanity I sincerely hope that I will be satisfied with the results. *ominous music*

On a lighter note - I found a PERFECT representation of what I'd be like if I went into psych:

(So, in case you can't tell; chances of me in psych = 0)

Listening to: Вся Моя Любовь