UWorld and medical school in general is teaching me to be racist AND sexist at the same time*!!! (*seriously, before anyone freaks out I am _kidding_. I would like to think that I am neither racist or sexist. )
Young african american female with bilateral lymph..
SARCOIDOSIS!
Young 25 yr old male with spots on...
HIV!
A 45 yr old black...
HYPERTENSION!
Immigrant from...
EVERYTHING BAD!
*shaking head* It's actually pretty helpful to help narrow down diagnoses but you have to be careful not to fall into sterotypes too much. I mean, I had a sarcoidosis vignette on Uworld and spent an extra five minutes scrutinizing it _just_ because the patient was male - even though it was clear case of above mentioned sarcoidosis. Women can have hemophilia too people!!
Anyways. I am seriously burned around my crispy study cookie edges (it's a polypeptide cookie...with mint frosting ;) ). I'm nine days away from The Day and am simultaneously trying not to panic, motivate myself to continue studying, convince myself that I do in fact know something even thought I feel like I know nothing, and again with the resisting of the panicking when I realize that I can't remember if labetalol is a nonspecific beta blocker or not (it is btw).
But all that aside I am , overall, in between the spots of pseudo-mental disassociation, feeling what I'd describe as 'cautiously optimistic'. I'm planning on taking a final NBME a few days before the exam just to ensure that I'm happy with where I am. For my already somewhat questionable sanity I sincerely hope that I will be satisfied with the results. *ominous music*
On a lighter note - I found a PERFECT representation of what I'd be like if I went into psych:
(So, in case you can't tell; chances of me in psych = 0)
Listening to: Вся Моя Любовь
Tuesday, April 19, 2011
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment